New here, just got a Tremoverb!

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jinx

Reaction score
Hello boogiemeisters! I am new here so i'll just say hello! :)

I just got a Mesa Boogie Tremoverb head in the mail today (won it off ebay for 999).. I haven't had a chance to fire her up yet, all the tubes were not put in... so i have a few questions..

1. Of the smallest tubes there is one section that has an aluminum ring around it, it says to use a low noise tube, but the tubes i got with this head, none of them say low noise, do i just use a normal 12Ax7 (or is it 127xA? I dont know, i'm new to tubes, and am not at home with it now).. I just put one of the 6 in there.. Also some of them said fender on them, others did not, but they all said made in russia so i asume its okay? which leads me to question 2..

2. Do all tubes need to be the same brand? the LARgest tubes (from what i've been reading these are the rectifiers?) and 2nd largest, all have MESA on them.. and the 2nd largest appear to be EL34's, the amp has the bias switch set to EL34's , so i think i am doing everything right..

3. Also that tube that goes into that small aluminum slot, doesnt seem to get as low as the rest, i can just barely still see the teeth a tad bit, and the rest i cant really see their feet.. is this normal? Will i be okay? Will the amp explode if i dont have it seated properly?

4. Any way to figure out the date of my amp from the serial? Its in fairly good shape, has a detachable power cord, has a circular blue power light cap (not a gem shaped, like i thought? maybe thats just fenders?), has round knobs with dots (not little points).. and the serial is R-016xxx