New Boogie User.. Newb.... looking for thoughts and advice

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

radiomatts

Reaction score
Hey Everyone,
I'm Matt and I live in the burbs of Chicago. As of yesterday, I'm new to the world of Mesa Boogie amps. I've played nothing but Marshall amps my whole life...I've been playing for about 40 years. I currently own two Marshall JMP half stacks and a Mode Four head. The Mode Four blew up yesterday.

I got pissed, when to Guitar Center and found a dead mint Road King combo. Better than just finding it... it was mispriced. They had it marked at $399.99. Yup.

So I took it in their demo room with an open mind. I have always, perhaps unfairly, associated these amps with Metallica and the nu Metal de tuned stuff. I'm more a classic hard rocker. Think Schenker or Paul Kossoff over Hammett. I was blown away by the sound of this amp. It does a nice brown sound interpretation too. So... that along with the price.. I had to pick it up. Oh.. here's my receipt.

So... now that I have it home... I have no **** idea how to use this thing. Coming from 70's Marshalls to this is like going from a flip phone straight to an iPhone 6.

So... I look to all of you for advice. Tell me what you know about this amp. It pays to be open minded, and I'm looking forward to using this amp a lot!

Matt

Congrats on the total steal! That thing is the Ultraglide of the Mesa world. Super nice.

The most obvious thing is read the manual. Compared to other amps, especially traditional ones like Marshall, Mesas are very twitchy because the controls have a wider range. They are also often quirky, with linear pots where an audio taper would make more sense.