MK IV widebody vs. compact combo

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

musicman10_1

Reaction score
New here. Hello to all. I have been reading for a little while and have gone through all the pages. Please help me. I just finished selling some gear to fund a new Mark IV. No dealer in my area (that I have visited) has any Mark IV amps. I have only ever played the standard Mark IV (compact).

If you were buying new is there any reason to consider the original compact version of the combo? I play blues to metal with the occasional country style guitar lick. My main guitars are humbucker equipped though I do break out a strat for those Jimi and SRV moments.

I simply have not heard a widebody combo and would like any advice with regard to my purchase. I am not a newbie to guitar - only to this forum - so please consider that this is a serious tone based question. I formerly owned a .50 caliber + but for the last several years have used a Fender Cybertwin. I was very happy with the .50 but simply changed for the sake of change and a wider variety of tones. The Mark IV has been a long time "wish list" item and now it is possible so I want to make sure I get it right.

Thanks for you help and advice,

John

I wondered the same thing. Wide body vs compact. I just bought a wide body not knowing there was a smaller one after I got it home. I would think the bigger the body the more low end would be come out. Because of the bigger body. I also came from having a 50 Caliber. I then went to a F-30. The same size as a 50 Cal. So to answer your question is there a difference in sound? Beats me..............but I can assume the bigger the body the bigger the sound 8)

Dennis
MK IV
PRS artist package