Mesa DC5 Head issues

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RG_FANMAN

Reaction score
Hi guys! I'm new to The Boogie Board, but if anyone on here has been to other forums like UG and the Ibanez forum, you may know me from there. I hope this is the right section to be posting my issue. If not, sorry!

So here's the backstory to my problem:

About 6 months ago I bought a 1994 DC-5 head from ebay. I bought it because I had played a DC-3 through a Marshall JCM800 1960 cab and loved how it sounded, but wished it had more gain, which is something the DC-5 seemed to fulfill.

For 3 or 4 months after getting the head I was EXTREMELY happy with the sounds I was getting from it, even though I was (and still am) using two low end guitars with it: an Ibanez RG321MH and an MIK Schecter Spitfire (the equivalent of the Damien/Omen series for those that aren't familiar). When I initially got it, I was a metalhead through and through (even though I listened to a variety of stuff) and mainly played high gain, detuned metal like Killswitch Engage, As I Lay Dying, Slipknot, Children of Bodom, etc etc.

However, this past summer I got incredibly bored with modern metal, and chose to re-exam my taste in music, and thus led me to favor different music. Sadly, I realized my Mesa had WAAAY too much gain for what I was playing. Right now, I have my settings as follows;

G: 3
T: 6
M: 6
B: 6
P: 8
GEQ: Boosted V, with mids slightly scooped
Channel Volume (forget the name right now): 5
Master Volume: 1.5