Mesa 400+

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

uyvu_taman

Reaction score
I just bought a used mesa boogie 400+ Amp. I also bought 2 mesa boogie cabs. One is 15" for 8ohms 400 watts and the other one is 2x 10" for 8ohms 600 watts. (both are powerhouse Cabs). I am not sure how to connect my 400+ amp with this speaker cabs.

Can I use both cabs for my 400+ amp or oly One?
If I need to use both cabs, Do I need to plug in the 8ohms out put or 4ohms out put?

What type of connection that I need to use (I mean parallel or series)

Another question: Please help me to chose the appropriate case for my 400+ Amp. Which case is fit the best and works well for amp 400+. I heard people talk about 4 rack mount or 8 rack mount...or Not enough air flow.........etc.

Please help me out, I am a new bassist.....I did not know much about these stuff.

I have a 400+ that I use with 2 RoadReady 2x15s (Most of the time just 1 cab therefore I use the 4 ohm outlet)...Since each each cab is rated at 4 Ohms, so I would need to plug into plug into the 2 Ohm outlet--if I use both cabs.). Pretty simple. In your case, use the 8 Ohm outlet if you use 1 cab. Using both cabs will change everything to 4 Ohms.

You can go to the Mesa website and download their user manuals & also calling Mesa service reps. would be a good idea if you have any doubts. I have found them to be helpful.

RE: Your rack case...I use a RoadReady Mesa rack case that holds my Mesa 400+, M-2000, Tuner, & Rack Rider Power conditioner...(HEAVIER than Hell...but worth the peace of mind for a backup amp (M-2000)-never had to use it yet...& quality protection from this rack case--lots of cooling air space too.).

Get a quality rack case (SKB cases tend to come unlatched---Shop around, try E-Bay). If you gig often ---don't mess around get the BEST shock-proof protection you can afford.