Mesa 2x12 vert

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

atlst7

Reaction score
Hello,

I have been playing a mark IVB for about 5 years now. I blew the C-90 a while back and ended up putting the new EVM12L in it. Love it. Anyway.. I have the opportunity to buy a Mesa 2x12 vert at a good price and plan on running the 2x12 with the combo on-top of it simultaneously for my live rig. Lotta questions.. Will the wide-body combo sit awkwardly or nice on top of the 2x12 vert? Am I able to run them both simultaneously without damaging the amp? The 2X12 has V30s in it. I do plan on changing them to EVMs, but in the meanwhile idk if there is an OHM issue between the two different speakers? Do you think for a musician playing clubs for 50-300 ppl it makes sense to use more than just a combo? keep in mind my lead guitarist is using a 4x12 so idk if it would help balance sounds? I cant get a 412 because I drive a very small car. How much is a used Mesa 212 in fair condition worth? Since I do plan of changing V30s to EVM12Ls, has anyone had any experience with MarkIV/2X12 vert w/EVMs? ps. I am using an ESP Eclipse (non-EMG) and am playing west coast style punk, so essentially modern high liquid gain with crunchy palm mutes.

Thanx guys u rock

I play similar gear in similar venues to similar sized crowds and my vert 2x12s have delivered perfectly for 24 years. Ironically, MANY years ago (about 25 years ago), I was in Hollywood, CA watching a neo punk band in some bar with one guitarist. He played a Mark III and had a pair of 2x12 vert half-back cabs and absolutely SLAYED it! Best tone I'd heard in a live venue and influenced me to get mine. For that genre music, it sounded perfect, even though it wasn't exactly what I played at the time.