Mark IV strange noise troubles, HELP!

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I got my Mark IV on eBay about 8 months ago, and just changed the tubes for the first time a week or two ago. I have noticed that when i turn on my amp there is a crackling noise then it turns into a siren like noise, almost like an ambulance or something. I don't know what is causing this. Could it be that i put in the wrong biased tubes, because i used all JJ's, or could it be because the tubes aren't in all the way? I am new to tubes and this is my first tube amp, so i don't know too much about tube troubles. Also, my Power tubes seem kinda loose compared to my old tubes, but i am pretty sure they are in all the way. Thanks!

Sounds like it could be a defective preamp tube. Try swapping one at a time with one of the old tubes. Does it work at all, or just make the funny noises ? I assume you got power tubes that are matched pairs, put them in the correct sockets (XYYX) and they are within Mesa Boogie specs ?

I got Matched Quads for Power tubes, and i got them from The Tube store online. i even got a matched sides preamp for the first stage. The Amp still works, its just that when i don't play it whines like a siren and crackles and stuff. Is there a way to check the tubes without taking them in and out, cause it took me a really long time to get the preamp tubes in since they are so far in the back. Also, when i ordered them i didn't realize that you could order specific tube ratings, so i just got any matched quad, so they might not be biased towards my amp right, but i didn't think that would matter so much cause some people mismatch that anyway for a different sound