JP2C vs Mark IV

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fatbagg

Reaction score
Hey errbody, got a few questions...

Quick rundown. I've been using a Mesa mark IV A and B for about 15 years, I love it. I've been through way too many amps, marshalls, Diezel, cornfords, fryette, bogner, other mesas, lone star, express, etc... I always keep my mark IV, however. I did own a mark V for a few months, found it to be tighter, a bit too "hi-fi ", not as fat, slinky, warm or harmonically rich as my IV, for my application. I have owned a real IIC+, and loved it. I got rid of it because while it had the best fat, singing unique lead tone, it was a struggle on stage due to versatility.

My question, how is the JP2c against the mark IV in terms of that wonderful fat, warm, harmonically laden liquid, slippery almost elastic lead tone? Does it sound more like a IV or 2c+, or a V? I like a very clean clean tone (less breakup than even the IV), but an almost loose, yet clean, fat midrange heavy lead tone. I don't play much "metal", but I do use pretty high gain, I play a lot of lead oriented music and instrumentals.

Here's my old IIC+
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=hy6Jom3CmRM
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=5E7hrsXtDDM
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=5CaM2-XqjeY

Here's my IV
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=b9pWkqDgLUE

Hey man, I don't have an answer to your question, just wanted to say I remember you posting that second IIc+ clip on the Rig-Talk forum awhile back (I remember the inverted V on the graphic eq). Great tone and equally great playing. :p

The JP is NOT a V. I hated the V, and I love the JP. It is supposedly pretty close to a IIC+, with some minor caveats.