help with mark IV tone...

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

deafmybullet

Reaction score
i just recently purchased a mesa mark IV head and am looking for some help on getting the sound i want out of it. this is my first tube amp, so i'm rather new to figuring out how to get certain tones out of it. i know lamb of god uses these heads and i am looking for the killer distortion they get out of them.

i know these amps sound better when turned up, but in doing so, the volume gets ridiculously loud. i was wondering if a power brake might help my situation and if so, who makes a good power brake?

any help would be greatly appreciated. thanks.

While I've never tried a power brake, one widely practiced method of at least taming the volume of a tube amp while getting it to sound somewhat decent at lower levels is to turn each individual channel volume rather low, and adjusting the master volume to taste. This at least gets the power tubes involved. Obviously the more master volume, the more you work the power tubes, which is key in getting a great tube amp tone.

I recommend a Tom Scholz Power Soak. You can get one on ebay or buy one new. You can pick your impedence from 4, 8, or 12, which is nice. And it's got I think 10 different attenuation levels. It's what I use with my Mark III, and I like it.

Seeing as you're new to this amp, give it some time BEFORE you buy up accessories. There are so many tonal variations in your amp, you need to explore them, not add more options!

That's my .02, and I'm sticking to it!

Check the settings database on the main site - www.grailtone.com look under Tone Settings.

I have a MK IV WideBody Combo. It takes some time to get this amp dialed in.
I have had mine for over 9 months, and gig with it nearly weekly. I am still "finding" my settings.