Help with EMGs through a Triple Rectifier.

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Motorgear

Reaction score
I have an EMG-85 in the bridge of an ESP/LTD EC-1000 and I can’t seem to remove some of the harshness associated with these pups when playing through my Triple Rec. The guitar sounds amazing through my other amps (i.e., Marshall), but much more brittle and harsh with the Triple Rec.

I love the guitar and amp but hate the marriage.

Any clues or hints on how to dial in a less “harsh” sound.

I’ve tried everything I can think of. My other guitars, with mostly Semour Duncan pups (e.g., Invader, Hot Rails,SB-1, SB-4) are fine and great. Every guitar needs to be EQ’d differently and everything turns out fine in the end.

I’m officially “knobbed-out,” and a little fed up at re-EQing over and over. I’m not a newbie and, on normal days, I seem to know what I am doing: but on this one I’m at a loss.
Help?

I'd try an eq pedal. I use the Danelectro Fish and Chips Pedal with guitars loaded with EMG-81's, H-1's and H-4's. It seems to help dial out the mid-range (81) and high end that these pick ups posses (especially the H-4's). This pedal is $29.99 in musicians friend and the 9v adapter is $9.99. Hopefully that might help. I play with a Master of Puppets style tone on channel 2 and a Load/Reload/S&M style tone on Channel 3.

-AJH

Try 81 emg instead,i found the same with the 85 in brige pos, also try rollin tone back a wee bit,thickens and takes bite of a bit,.
Also is this happening while its just you and your amp in a room or is it with the band.
Somtimes the mid can kill on its own but with the band it happens .
Dont forget mids cut through to make you heard the 81 is scooped a bit
cheers sick for mesa 24/7