Help choosing a Mesa amp

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bdunagan

Reaction score
I am new to the Boogie Board. This is a great forum with lots of good people and good information.

I had decided to buy a Mesa Boogie when I got tired of my Fender amp's lack of a lead voice and just overall bland tones. I need some advice on what amps to consider in my first Boogie purchase.

I play an Eric Clapton Strat w/ the Lace noiseless p/u's (I am considering changing p/u's). My next guitar purchase will be a PRS or Gibson ES-335.

I am looking for an amp that will foremost provide great lead tones, as that is what I mostly play. But I would also like to be able to play great cleans and have a useful overdrive channel. The styles of music I play are blues, reggae, and rock. I guess I am looking for that Santana Mark tone as well as the Sublime / 311 Recto tone. I play more in a bedroom practice situation than I play with drums, so I am not sure how much use I would get out of a 100 watt head.

I had decided upon a Mark V, but then read all of the negatives, and read that I should buy the head rather than the combo. Then I read about the Mark I and the Mark II c+. I am torn as I have no way to play any of these amps before I purchase.

So my question is, Mark V? Head or Combo? Or should I go vintage with a previous Mark seriess?

Will the Road King sound decent at lower volumes? Or is there another Boogie that will fit my needs?

Thank you all for any advise.

ive heard great things about the DC series and with an EQ you can get alot of tones. I have a nomad 100 and i use it for 311/santana stuff all the time!

the express series is kind of an entry level boogie but it might not be versatile enough if you like the recto crunch.