DR Strings?!?!

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ibanez4life SZ!

Reaction score
Hey guys!

My new RG came with a set of DR 10's....

I know it is a completely different guitar and even gauge than I am used to, but the strings feel and sound sooo much more alive than my D'addarios.....almost as if I'm playing an acoustic.....it's amazing!

So, does anyone else have any experience with DR strings? My SZ is setup with 11's, and I'm thinking about putting DRs on it instead of the D'addarios I've been using for the last 2 years......

I just replaced a set of DR strings that I tried on a whim with D`Addarios.. had the exact opposite conclusion :p

The DR's felt nice for a few days and then lost their sparkle and started to get funky and rusty after about 2 weeks of playing to the point where it was impossible to play. After taking off the 1st E string during the replacement it snapped clean in half right up by the tuning machine.. not a moment too soon to change strings eh?

Put my trusty D`Addario XL 10-46's on and it's night and day. That's why there's so many brands though, different tastes!

It looks like I'm staying with D'addario....not only do many say they are not trustworthy...I bought a set, and the E snapped during tune-up....the A strings was a bit funky too!

Staying the D'addarios :D

I played them and noticed about the same thing. Just not trustworthy. I play GHS and love them. D'addario are nice as well though.

JamesD said:
I played them and noticed about the same thing. Just not trustworthy. I play GHS and love them. D'addario are nice as well though.

GHS strings make me so angry because they sound so ridiculously good for the first few days and then almost instantly start to corrode and lose their magic. If they could make that initial sound stay throughout their lifespan I'd be sold for life on them.