Advice with my first Boogie purchase

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

diesil

Reaction score
Hey guys, so I finally sold my 6505+ and I have my eye on a Mark IV head. This may be a dumb question but is there anyway to tell if a head has been converted from a combo? Besides obvious asthetics of course but this one looks legit.

The reason I ask is that the handle on this one looks like all the ones i've seen on the combo's ( same as the Mark V handle I think )
Any pic I find of the head version has the flat style handle.

I have the serial number-013055 if that helps. Am I able to contact Mesa to find out?

Sorry if this seems stupid but i'm a noob so any info or help would be appreciated

Yeah, thats exactley what i did after this post, I would have done that first but I read a few posts saying Mesa didn't have records back that far but I emailed them last night and I had a reply first thing the morning and they confirmed it left as a head.

Anyway i'm off now to buy a Mark IV.....

Ok, i'm the proud owner of a MKIV...I realise it's gonna take a while to dial in but I can't even get close to a good tone yet. i played a MKIII blue a few weeks back and it sounded great within a few minutes of tweaking, and it was through a cheap crappy Marshall cab.

I'm running through a recto 4x12 stock with a Dean DM Zero and it sounds muddy and not tight at all which is what I was expecting-similar to the III-am I wrong to expect that?? I know the III is renound to be more aggressive.

I've played around with as many combinations as possible but keep in mind I can't blow the windows out where I am so i'm running the following settings which prob sound the best so far.

Any input from you guys would be great.

Lead Gain 8 Pull
Treb 8
Bass 5
Mid 6
Mas Lead 2.5 Tried In and Out
Mid Gain On
Output 3
Class A
Tri
Tweed