5:25 owner,thinking 5:50

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tom M

Reaction score
My title says it all, For just about 70 dollars I can get the 5:50 1x12. I love my 5:25 but I read somewhere that the 6l6 tubes sound alot richer than the el84's. I am new to this amp and to tubes amps in general. What do you guys think I should do, I love to play blues and classic rock but I also like to turn on the burn channel and play real heavy riffage as well. I tried listening to the difference of the tubes in the store but it was hard to hear with all the kids blasting metalica solo's on 8.

I would never really need 50 watts but I have been reading here that would just give me more clean headroom, am I correct on this or just misguided as hell, any advice would be greatly appreciated.

One more thing I notice I get some real weird noises when I kick on bluesdriver, I just removed it from in front of amp but I was curious as to why it sounded like the sound was fading or crumbling away when it was engaged. Thanks again

I have a 5:50 1 x 12 combo. I played the 5:25 1 x 10 combo when I bought it and liked the 5:50 a more. However, I think that had a lot to do with the 5:50's 12" speaker.

I also tried a Lonestar Special which sounded incredible. The EL84s did not hurt it's performance in any way. In fact, I think they enhanced it.

I just played a BBQ with the 5:50 today and had no issues with headroom. I think a 5:25 would've been fine as well.