Speaker for the Mesa Mark V: 35??? Any thoughts???

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Which speaker works best for the Mark V 35??

• Vintage 30

Votes: 24 55.8%
  • C90

Votes: 5 11.6%
  • EVM12L

Votes: 5 11.6%
  • Creamback M65

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Creamback H75

Votes: 1 2.3%
  • Other

Votes: 8 18.6%

• Total voters

MillstheHawk

Reaction score
Hey guys. Im new to the Boogie Board. I bought a Mark V 35 head a few weeks ago and absolutely love the amp. Im using a custom built semi open back oversized 1x12 cab, but Im not sure what speaker to roll with. Ive tried a Celestion G12h30 and a Creamback M65. Im not totally sold on either speaker though. I play mostly blues, classic rock and etc. Ive found myself living on the crunch and Mark IV settings, but I do love the cleans on the fat setting. Im looking for a speaker that doesn't compromise any of this amps tones. My friend has the combo version and has tried the c90, v30 and EVM12L. He swears that the EVM12L is the way to go. Would love any input you guys might have. Cheers

I use a mesa ms-12 speaker with my Mark v 25. I tried the evm12l but went back to the ms-12. The evm12l was too articulate for me. I like the way the ms-12 smears the mids. To my ears it sounds smoother and warmer than the evm12l.

I prefer the Vintage 30 (specifically, the OEM Mesa version).

IMO, the MC90 is good if you're after more of a old school sound. It has edgier highs and bigger lows with a touch less mids (relative to the V30).

The V30 is more modern. Lots of mids with rolled off highs and lows. Very punchy.

It's been a decade since I had an EVM-12L so I don't remember the details, but I found it bland and boring. I think it pairs well with a speaker that has more character, but on its own... let's just say that it wasn't my bag.