Nomad 55 4x10... very disappointing

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mikopita

Reaction score
Greetings everyone. I'm a noob to this forum, but have been playing for quite awhile (25 years). Any advice, suggestions or remarks will be greatly appreciated.

I've had (in order of when I owned them):
Studio .22+, Mark III harwood/wicker, Mark I, Mark III, Mark IV, .50 Caliber, Mark iIB... and now the Nomad 55 4x10.

Every time I sold one of my amps, I realized I was going to regret the decision. It was always due to a greater need that I had to accomodate. My favorite of all was both of my Mark III's. I just wasn't happy with the tone I was able to get for all three channels at once (I only was ever really happy with two at a time).

I recently picked up a Nomad 55 4x10 in trade for an old BandMaster head (which I now regret). At the time, it seemed to have a nice tone and was flexible enough for my current gigs. Now though, I'm not particularly thrilled with it. Several rehearsals and a gig later and I feel that no matter what instrument I play and what channel/settings I have it set on, I am lost in the mix. The reverb is terrible, so I've had to use my holy grail. The OD's are ok, but lacking in ways I cannot describe (so I added a Barber Tone Press into the chain and the tone came alive... somewhat). Now, I'm back to where I started... using more pedals than I had hoped to have to.